Key Board Shortcut (Linux)

< Virtual terminals >

Ctrl + Alt + F1
Switch to the first virtual terminal. In Linux, you can have several virtual terminals at the same time. The default is 6.

Ctrl + Alt + Fn
Switch to the nth virtual terminal. Because the number of virtual terminals is 6 by default, n = 1…6.

tty
Typing the tty command tells you what virtual terminal you’re currently working in.

Ctrl + Alt + F7
Switch to the GUI. If you have the X Window System running, it runs in the seventh virtual terminal by default in most Linux distros. If X isn’t running, this terminal is empty.
Note: in some distros, X runs in a different virtual terminal by default. For example, in Puppy Linux, it’s 3.

< X Window System >

Ctrl + Alt + +
Switch to the next resolution in the X Window System. This works if you’ve configured more than one resolution for your X server. Note that you must use the + in your numpad.

Ctrl + Alt + -
Switch to the previous X resolution. Use the – in your numpad.

MiddleMouseButton
Paste the highlighted text. You can highlight the text with your left mouse button (or with some other highlighting method, depending on the application you’re using), and then press the middle mouse button to paste. This is the traditional way of copying and pasting in the X Window System, but it may not work in some X applications.

If you have a two-button mouse, pressing both of the buttons at the same time has the same effect as pressing the middle one. If it doesn’t, you must enable 3-mouse-button emulation.

This works also in text terminals if you enable the gpm service.

Ctrl + Alt + Backspace
Kill the X server. Use this if X crashes and you can’t exit it normally. If you’ve configured your X Window System to start automatically at bootup, this restarts the server and throws you back to the graphical login screen.

< Command line – input >

Home or Ctrl + a
Move the cursor to the beginning of the current line.

End or Ctrl + e
Move the cursor to the end of the current line.

Alt + b
Move the cursor to the beginning of the current or previous word. Note that while this works in virtual terminals, it may not work in all graphical terminal emulators, because many graphical applications already use this as a menu shortcut by default.

Alt + f
Move the cursor to the end of the next word. Again, like with all shortcuts that use Alt as the modifier, this may not work in all graphical terminal emulators.

Tab
Autocomplete commands and file names. Type the first letter(s) of a command, directory or file name, press Tab and the rest is completed automatically! If there are more commands starting with the same letters, the shell completes as much as it can and beeps. If you then press Tab again, it shows you all the alternatives.

This shortcut is really helpful and saves a lot of typing! It even works at the lilo prompt and in some X applications.

Ctrl + u
Erase the current line.

Ctrl + k
Delete the line from the position of the cursor to the end of the line.

Ctrl + w
Delete the word before the cursor.

< Command line – output >

Shift + PageUp
Scroll terminal output up.

Shift + PageDown
Scroll terminal output down.

clear
The clear command clears all previously executed commands and their output from the current terminal.

Ctrl + l
Does exactly the same as typing the clear command.

reset
If you mess up your terminal, use the reset command. For example, if you try to cat a binary file, the terminal starts showing weird characters. Note that you may not be able to see the command when you’re typing it.

< Command line – history >

history
When you type the history command, you’ll see a list of the commands you executed previously.

ArrowUp or Ctrl + p
Scroll up in the history and edit the previously executed commands. To execute them, press Enter like you normally do.

ArrowDown or Ctrl + n
Scroll down in the history and edit the next commands.

Ctrl + r
Find the last command that contained the letters you’re typing. For example, if you want to find out the last action you did to a file called “file42.txt“, you’ll press Ctrl + r and start typing the file name. Or, if you want to find out the last parameters you gave to the “cp” command, you’ll press Ctrl + r and type in “cp“.

< Command line – misc >

Ctrl + c
Kill the current process.

Ctrl + z
Send the current process to background. This is useful if you have a program running, and you need the terminal for awhile but don’t want to exit the program completely. Then just send it to background with Ctrl+z, do whatever you want, and type the command fg to get the process back.

Ctrl + d
Log out from the current terminal. If you use this in a terminal emulator under X, this usually shuts down the terminal emulator after logging you out.

Ctrl + Alt + Del
Reboot the system. You can change this behavior by editing /etc/inittab if you want the system to shut down instead of rebooting.

  1. like me

  2. Can I just say what a relief to discover somebody who definitely knows what theyre talking about over a internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. Much more folks need to read this and realize this side in the story. I cant believe youre not much more well-known due to the fact you genuinely have the gift.

  3. thanks, and keep up the good work

  4. It matters less to a person where they are born than where they can live.

  5. hey, I’m unable to subscribe for the RSS feed. Can you assist or do you know why? thanks for ones info.

  6. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  7. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific website.

  8. Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog posts to keep the readers more entertained? I mean I just read through the entire article of yours and it was quite good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful well let me know how it turns out. Keep up the great works guys!

  9. I am normally trying to find value. This article gets me thinking. check back with this site.http://www.secretenhancers.com/volume-enhancers-facts.php

  10. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  11. Hey I was just looking at your site in Firefox and the picture at the top of the link cant show up correctly. Just thought I would let you know.

  12. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  13. This website is very cool. How did you make it .

  14. I actually love how it is straightforward on my eyes and in addition the data are properly written. I am wondering how I can be notified each time a new publish has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick!

  15. There aren’t many web sites with info like this man! Bookmarked!

  16. nice stuff you have got posted here.. it appears you will have put great effort in penning this

  17. I am impressed with this site, real I am a fan .

  18. Hmmm…very good to know, there were certainly a number of things that I hadn’t thought of before.

  19. Excellent write-up, I am a big believer in placing comments on blogs to help the blog writers know that they have added something of great benefit to the online world!

  20. Good article we need to spread the word about this website.You deserve to have more attention .

  21. I do not agree with this post. Even so, I did searched in Bing and I have found out you are right and I was thinking in the wrong way. Keep on creating top quality articles like this.

  22. Hi I love this post and it is so fabulous and I am gonna save it. I Have to say the Superb analysis you have done is greatly remarkable.Who goes that extra mile these days? Bravo. Just another tip you shouldget a Translator for your Global Readers ..

  23. whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your articles. Keep up the good work! You know, many people are hunting around for this info, you can help them greatly.

  24. Great post guys, I’m a huge believer in commenting on blogs both for that reasons you’ve right here but additionally in an effort to profit the blog authors understand that they’ve added something valueable to your web!

  25. Awesome report we have to spread the word about this internet site.You deserve to have extra recognition .

  26. Hello.This post became motivating, especially since I was trying to find thoughts on this subject last Tuesday.

  27. Hi I absolutely adore this article and it was so admirable and I am going to save it. One thing to say the exceptional analysis this article has is greatly exceptional . No one does that additional research now days? Well Done !!! Also one more tip you shouldset up any Translator Application for your Global Readers 🙂

  28. Hi. I wanted to drop you a fast notice to precise my thanks. Ive been following your weblog for a month or so and have picked up a ton of fine information and loved the tactic youve structured your site. I’m making an attempt to run my very personal blog nonetheless I feel its too basic and I need to concentrate on a lot of smaller topics. Being all things to all of us isn’t all that its cracked as much as be

  29. hi, what is the theme you are using?

  30. I simply wanted to thank you once again for this amazing web page you have made here. It can be full of ideas for those who are definitely interested in that subject, in particular this very post. You’re really all so sweet along with thoughtful of others in addition to the fact that reading your website posts is a wonderful delight in my experience. And what a generous surprise! Jeff and I will have fun making use of your ideas in what we should instead do in the future. Our listing is a distance long and tips will definitely be put to excellent use.

  31. That was a incredibly amazing study for a change I am pleased to exclaim. I do not typically churn out remarks on blogs hence I don’t genuinely understand off-topic so publish or not.how you drop a line to.In my honest, a number of websites I have seen are boring drivel along with don’t have anything set off, but this editorial was of much better quality than recently.Thank you for writing about topic as I really similar to learn further about it. I have study a mass of useful stuff about this on the net. A fair amount of that information at this point on your web site.I was quite surprised by it in truth – I create an effort to keep a few blogs reasonably live, but battle sometimes. You have done a big job with this one. How do you do manage to cope with it? I will have to bookmark this web site in my favorites so I be able return when I get the time.

  32. You post interesting articles here. Your website deserves much more
    visitors. It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful
    service that can help you, just type in google: svetsern traffic tips

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

