15 interesting facts about LInux and Kernel

On 14th March 1994, Linux kernel version 1.0.0 was humbly released for the world to tinker with.

1. A 21 year-old Finnish college student created the Linux kernel as a hobby. (Do you know him?)

2. An asteroid was named after the creator of the Linux kernel.

3. Thousands of developers/programmers scattered all around the world are continuously contributing to the development of the Linux kernel.

4. The Linux kernel’s official mascot is a penguin named Tux.

5. According to a study funded by the European Union, the estimated cost to redevelop the most recent kernel versions would be at $1.14 billion USD.

6. As of today, only 2% of the Linux kernel has been written by Linus Torvalds.

7. The Linux kernel is written in the version of the C programming language.

8. Linux is now one of the most widely ported operating system kernels, running on a diverse range of systems from handheld computers to mainframe servers.

9. Linux kernel 1.0.0 was released with 176,250 lines of code. The latest Linux kernel has over 10 million lines of code.

10. Microsoft Windows and the Linux kernel can run simultaneously in parallel on the same machine using a software called Cooperative Linux (coLinux).

11. At first, Torvalds wanted to call the kernel he developed Freax (a combination of “free”, “freak”, and the letter X to indicate that it is a Unix-like system), but his friend Ari Lemmke, who administered the FTP server where the kernel was first hosted for downloading, named Torvalds’ directory linux.

12. A guy name William Della Croce, Jr. trademarked the name Linux and eventually demanded royalties for its use. He later agreed to assign the trademark to Torvalds.

13. The Linux kernel can be found on more than 87% of systems on the world’s Top 500 supercomputers.

14. A “vanilla kernel” is not an ice cream flavor but an unmodified version of the Linux kernel.

15. The Linux Kernel is not in any way related to the army rank called ‘Colonel’. (hehe)

Cheers!

  1. I love your site theme! What template did you use ?

  2. I was more than happy to seek out this web-site.I wished to thanks in your time for this glorious learn!! I definitely enjoying each little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  3. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the problem is one thing that not sufficient people are talking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing regarding this.

  4. I found your weblog website on google and verify a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the very good operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of forward to reading extra from you later on!…

  5. I’m often to blogging and i really recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

  6. This web page is really a stroll-via for the entire info you needed about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll positively discover it.

  7. thnx bro

  8. You wouldn’t believe it but I’ve wasted all day digging for some articles about this. You might be a lifesaver, it was an beneficial read and has helped me out to no end. Cheers!

  9. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, as well as the content!

  10. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  11. Hello there, Are you going to be publishing a follow up piece? My husband and me have squandered some time browsing over your web page and surprisingly sufficient you touched on some thing we had been discussing only the other week with our accountant. We frequently notice ourselves quarrelling over the smallest of problems, isn’t it childish? At any rate we wish you best wishes from the Usa.

  12. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you have done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick for me on Firefox. Outstanding Blog!

  13. Measure three times before you cut once.

  14. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

  15. An eye is blind in another mans corner.

  16. Is this a custom word press theme? I would like to have a similar one for my blog

  17. I actually knew about most of this, but having said that, I still thought it was useful. Nice job!

  18. you got a very excellent website, Glad I observed it through yahoo.

  19. Thanks for taking the effort and time to compose something which is invoking

  20. Man I like this post and it was so informational and I am gonna bookmark it. One thing to say the Indepth analysis this article has is greatly remarkable.Who goes that extra mile these days? Well Done 🙂 Just one more suggestion you canget a Translator for your Global Readers 🙂

  21. I completely agree with what you have explained. In fact, I browsed through your various other blogposts and I believe that you’re completely correct. Best wishes with this online site.

  22. Sensational info. I look forward to seeing more.

  23. Nice Blog! Please let your readers know that I found an awesome site they would enjoy too – http://aboutandroid.com – Everything about android! Android just started outselling the iphone too!

  24. Cheers for using the time and effort to make some thing that’s effective

  25. This is a very informative blog. But I will be having issues endeavoring to view it on my new MAC using Chrome browser. Any suggestion?

  26. Hi I absolutely adore this editorial and it has been so nice therefore I am gonna tweet it. I Have to say the Wonderful research this article has is greatly extraordinary !!! Who goes that extra mile now days? Hats off to You . Just another advise you canintroduce a Translator for your Worldwide Users ..

  27. Thanks a lot for this useful article

  28. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  29. Nice post. I be taught one thing tougher on totally totally different blogs everyday. It would at all times be stimulating to learn content material materials from completely different writers and observe somewhat one thing from their store. I’d need to use some with the content on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink in your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  30. Advantageously, this post is actually the greatest on this valuable topic. I fit in with your explanations and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be enough, for the wonderful clarity in your documentation. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Fabulous work and a lot of success in your business dealings!

  31. Obviously I like your website, but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to inform you. Nevertheless I’ll certainly come again again!

  32. You, my pal, ROCK! I found exactly the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t locate it. What an ideal site.

  33. I have been reading out some of your stories and i can state clever stuff. I will surely bookmark your blog.

  34. I needed to send you the bit of word just to say thanks a lot the moment again for those pretty pointers you’ve shown in this case. This has been so unbelievably generous with people like you to grant unreservedly exactly what a lot of folks might have made available for an ebook to generate some dough for themselves, mostly now that you could possibly have done it if you considered necessary. The principles additionally worked like the easy way to fully grasp that the rest have a similar passion much like my personal own to grasp more and more with regard to this condition. I’m sure there are lots of more enjoyable times ahead for people who read carefully your website.

  35. My brother suggested I might like this website. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  36. Just what I was looking for, regards for posting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

