Linux Console – Virtual Terminal & Terminal Windows

There are several Linux terms that are the same or similar. And this “Linux Concepts & Terms Summary” article describes several terms that are the same – and others that are related.

Linux Terms: Linux Console, Linux Terminal and Linux Terminal Emulation Windows

First, You Need to Know About Linux Systems – With and Without Linux Desktops

You can install a Linux system with a desktop and this gives you a point-and-click working environment with icons and menus, like a Windows desktop – but much better!

Or you can install a Linux system without a desktop.

Linux tips: Linux servers are very often installed without a Linux desktop because a desktop is not required on some servers.

Linux Console and Linux Terminal

When you boot a Linux system without a desktop you see a black screen with a Login: prompt. This is commonly referred to as a Linux console.

At this point, you can log in as a Linux user and the Linux command line prompt appears. At this prompt, you can run Linux commands and Linux software programs.

A Linux console is also referred to as a Linux terminal.

Linux Terminal (Emulation) Windows

When you boot a Linux system that has a desktop installed, you boot to a GUI login prompt and log in to the Linux desktop.

At the Linux desktop, you can do some steps to open a terminal window on the desktop. A Linux terminal window is also know as a terminal “emulation” window. This window “emulates” a Linux terminal (a.k.a. console).

When you open a terminal emulation window, the Linux command line prompt appears and you can run Linux commands and Linux software programs.

Linux Tips: You can open multiple terminal emulation windows and hold down the Alt key and press the Tab key to move from one window to another.

Linux Virtual Terminal

From the Linux desktop, you can go to a Linux virtual terminal (a.k.a “vt”), that “emulates” the Linux terminal (a.k.a. console) that appears when you boot a Linux system that doesn’t have a desktop.

There are often six virtual terminals available and you press Ctrl+Alt+Fx to go to a virtual terminal. Replace the x in Fx with the number of a function key on your keyboard.

For example, to go from the Linux desktop to virtual terminal 1, hold down Ctrl and Alt and press F1 (and hope you don’t get a cramp). To go to vt 2, just press F2 instead of F1.

Linux Tips: You can’t access the virtual terminals from within some Linux virtual machines.

Imagine watching a Linux video tutorial that shows you all the steps described above, so you can easily learn how to work with all the different types of Linux terminals. Then pausing the video so you can try these steps yourself!

  1. Nice post you got here, i will post it in my web site

  2. Useful stuff, but the theme do not display properly on my Powerbook…maybe you need to check that out. Thanks, anyway.

  3. Gold! you save my day 😉

  4. Greetings! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  5. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  6. Usually I don’t post on blogs, but I need to say that this post incredibly forced me to complete so! Thanks, extremely nice article.

  7. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  8. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  9. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  10. Appreciate it for this post, I am a big big fan of this web site would like to proceed updated.

  11. Very well written and very instructive. I’m thankful you took the time to post this since it was extremely useful.

  12. I’m getting a browser error, is anyone else?

  13. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  14. Man I like this post and it was so informational and I am definetly going to bookmark it. I Have to say the Superb analysis you have done is greatly remarkable.Who goes that extra mile these days? Bravo!!! Just one more suggestion you canget a Translator Application for your Global Readers ..

  15. Just like someone else says what a wonderful blog this is. Normally I dont make the effort with a remark however for your effort you warrant 1. Congratulations

  16. You actually wrote about some engaging points on this page. I came across this by searching Google and I must admit that I already subscribed to the blog site, it’s very great (:

  17. Hey I discovered this website to be actually fascinating! Bookmarked! http://snoopnews.info/celebritynews273.html

  18. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  19. Thx for taking the effort and time to write some thing that’s thought provoking

  20. In this awesome design of things you’ll secure an A+ for hard work. Where you confused me personally was on the facts. You know, it is said, details make or break the argument.. And that couldn’t be much more correct at this point. Having said that, let me reveal to you just what did do the job. The article (parts of it) is actually rather persuasive and this is probably why I am making the effort in order to comment. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, whilst I can certainly see a jumps in reason you come up with, I am definitely not certain of how you seem to connect your ideas which in turn make the conclusion. For now I will yield to your issue however trust in the future you actually link the dots much better.

  21. Hi I absolutely love your write-up and it was too exceptional so I am gonna save. I Have to say the exceptional analysis you have done is trully exceptional ! No one goes that extra mile now days? Hats off to You ! Just one more tip you definetlyget a Translator Application for your Worldwide Audience .

  22. fantastic points altogether, you simply received a new reader. What could you suggest about your post that you made a few days in the past? Any positive?

  23. Appreciate deliver greater to debate the, I believe frankly in it also really enjoy reviewing more that theme. As long as feasible, when you complete expertise, everything that brain improving your entire journal in further help and advice? This can be very used for my home.

  24. Just imagine I read it 2 times. Whereas I’m not experienced on this topic, I tally with your closings mainly because they make sense. Gives Many thanks and goodluck for you.

  25. of course like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth then again I’ll surely come again again.

  26. Appreciation to my father who shared with me concerning this weblog, this webpage
    is actually amazing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

