RAID on Linux

For Raid

MTBF of Array = MTBF of individual drive/ Total no of drive in array

Therefore in Raid Mean time between failures (MTBF) is less as compared to SLED.Raid helps in achieving redundancy, low latency, higher bandwidth for reading and writing. It also helps recovery at the time of hard-disk crash.

Raid offers different level. They are as fallows:

1. Raid – 0
It has more improved performance and data storage capacity but is not redundant.
Therefore failure of any disk results in data lost. It is also called “striping”.

2. Raid – 1
It provides redundancy by writing all data in two disks. The speed of accessing data becomes faster. But the array capacity is equal to the capacity of one member disk. Therefore it is more expensive. This also referred as “Mirroring”.

3. Raid -2
It uses Hamming error correction code correction.

4. Raid -3
It strips data at byte level across several drives with parity stored on one drive.

5. Raid -4
It stripes data at block level from several drives with parity stored on one drive.
The speed of reading data is fast enough but for writing it is slow. Since writing requires the parity data be updated each time.

6. Raid-5
It distributes the parity among all drives. If the drive fails need replacement but the array is not destroyed by the single disk failure.

7. Raid-6
It is stripped with dual parity. If two drives fail the array continues the operation.
It provides more safety of data.

There are two types of raid solution in Linux:

1. Software Raid Solution:
It offers cheaper raid solution not only for expensive disk controller cards but also works with cheaper IDE disks as well as SCSI disks. There are two Linux software RAID implementation: MD (multi-disk) driver and the EVMS driver.

2. Hardware Raid Solution
The hardware-based system manages the RAID subsystem independently from the host and presents to the host only a single disk per RAID array.

If anyhow you lost your Linux file you are not able to recover it. You become very much frustrated you don’t know what to do .You can use Linux recovery software. It helps you to recover your ext2, ext3 and Resier Linux file without any extra efforts. Stellar Phoenix Linux data recovery provides you the complete solution for your lost data.

  1. cool

  2. I agree with much of what peoples comments are that I am reading here.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Outstanding blog post, I look forward to reading much more.

  5. Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

  6. Now and then I am going to stumble across a article like this and I am going to recall that there really are even now intriguing pages over a web. ^_^. Thanks.

  7. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  8. Basically to follow up on the update of this matter on your site and would wish to let you know just how much I liked the time you took to create this handy post. In the post, you spoke regarding how to really handle this thing with all ease. It would be my own pleasure to get some more suggestions from your web page and come up to offer other people what I learned from you. I appreciate your usual wonderful effort.

  9. Fantastic blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

  10. Outstanding blog post, I look forward to reading much more.

  11. I wrote a very specific response to this post but for some reason the box ate the whole thing. You might want to think about a new provider that is more accountable.

  12. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  13. Completely u got this 1 down right man.. Keeped me entertained for ages.

  14. There usually are not many web sites with information like this man! Bookmarked!

  15. I do love the manner in which you have framed this concern plus it does offer us some fodder for thought. However, because of what precisely I have personally seen, I simply wish as the commentary pile on that individuals keep on issue and don’t embark on a tirade associated with some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this fantastic piece and although I can not go along with this in totality, I regard the standpoint.

  16. Just discovered this site through Yahoo, what a pleasant shock!

  17. I feel more men and women need to read this, extremely great info.

  18. Was amused from the floor up. Will sticker around a bit more for a good read.

  19. Thanks for this post, I am a big big fan of this web site would like to continue updated.

    • saddle fitting instructions
    • February 23rd, 2011

    When will you post again ? Been looking forward to this !

  20. Superb posting we have to spread the word about this website.You need to have more recognition .

  21. The author dealt with quite a few curious things in this post. I found this article by using Bing and I have to confess that I am currently subscribed for your site, it is extremely decent (;

  22. Nice Blog! Please let your readers know that I found an awesome site they would enjoy too – http://aboutandroid.com – Everything about android! Android just started outselling the iphone too!

  23. Hi. I wanted to drop you a fast observe to express my thanks. Ive been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a ton of fine info and loved the method youve structured your site. I’m trying to run my very personal blog nonetheless I think its too normal and I must focus on a number of smaller topics. Being all things to all people just isn’t all that its cracked as much as be

  24. It is rare to get a professional in whom you can have some confidence. In the world at present, nobody genuinely cares about showing others the solution in this subject matter. How lucky I am to have found a really wonderful website as this. It is people like you that make a genuine difference nowadays through the suggestions they write about.

  25. Many interesting content. I would just like to know if your experience in this matter based on the theory and practice?

  26. Thank you for using the effort and time to compose some thing which is extremely good

  27. Mate thank you for this article. I completely agree with you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

